Maritones and the Don / Maritones gives Sancho water / Sancho tossed in a blanket.

One Comment to “Maritones and the Don / Maritones gives Sancho water / Sancho tossed in a blanket.”

  1. Really enjoy your posts of Doré’s Don Quixote. This is a book that I’ve been reading in different versions since I was a child, in Santiago, Chile. My first copy of El ingenioso hidalgo Don Quijote de La Mancha was an abridged and illustrated children’s version. I loved it then, and reread it for years, until I was old enough to read Cervantes for real. But I wish I’d known about Doré’s illustrations then! The fascination with this masterpiece will never end– I used Edith Grossman’s translation to teach it at CUNY and Goddard College– it’s the best translation in English. Here’s a paper I wrote on the “oriental” nature of the text: http://marianaromo-carmona.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2013-06-13T19:53:00-04:00&max-results=7

    Thanks for your blogs!
    Mariana

Leave a Reply

